

## Scholarships and Awards Committee

Date Established: June 2, 1999 by the Executive Board

## Mandate:

To perform activities related to CALL/ACBD's operation and granting of scholarships and awards such as the Diana M. Priestly Memorial Scholarship, the James D. Lang Memorial Scholarship, the Denis Marshall Memorial Award for Excellence in Law Librarianship, grants from the Education Reserve Fund and the nomination and support of a candidate to attend the Northern Exposure to Leadership Institute.

## Structure:

The committee will be chaired by a member who serves at the pleasure of the President. Members of the committee will include one Member-at-Large from the Executive, one member of the Education Committee (who will assist the Committee in making decisions about grants from the Education Reserve Fund) and other members selected by the Chair, taking into account the need to achieve balance and diversity with respect to the types of libraries worked in by the members and their geographic location.

## **Terms of Reference:**

The primary work of the Committee is to:

- Solicit and receive applications,
- Consider them against the terms and criteria set for each individual scholarship, award or grant, and
- Make decisions for granting/not granting the award or make a recommendation to the appropriate person or body.

The Education Committee and the Scholarships and Awards Committee will be jointly responsible for developing/maintaining the guidelines for the awarding of grants from the Education Reserve Fund but applications for the funds and decisions about the recipients will be made by the Scholarships and Awards Committee subject to the approval of the Executive Board.

The committee meets annually at the CALL Conference and conducts its business through email and conference calls. All deliberations of the Committee are confidential.