



Denis Marshall Memorial Award for Excellence in Law Librarianship

About | Purpose | Nomination Process | Application | Obligations of the Recipient | Presentation

Sponsored by:



About:

The Denis Marshall Memorial Award for Excellence in Law Librarianship has been generously established by LexisNexis Quicklaw. This award of \$3,000.00 plus expenses up to \$2,000 to attend the annual conference of the Canadian Association of Law Libraries/Association canadienne des bibliothèques de droit honours the memory of Denis Marshall.



Denis was a long-standing member of the Canadian Association of Law Libraries/Association canadienne des bibliothèques de droit. Highly regarded for his work as an Executive Board member and ultimately President of CALL/ACBD from 1985-1987, Denis always found time for our Association. Among his accomplishments, he shared his knowledge through various scholarly writings, many of which were published in Canadian Law Libraries/Bibliothèques de droit canadiennes. He actively participated in the Academic Law Libraries Special Interest Group, chaired the Conference Planning Committee for the Kingston Conference in 1996 and worked quietly behind the scenes for many years on the CALL/ACBD Copyright Committee, providing sage advice and legal opinions.

In addition to his many CALL/ACBD contributions, Denis was highly regarded for his scholarship in the academic community. He touched many law librarians', students' and lawyers' lives over his professional career, which took him from the University of Western Ontario to the University of British Columbia, to the University of Manitoba and ultimately to Queen's University where he was Professor and Law Librarian at the time of his death in June 2000. In recognition of his academic scholarship, Denis was duly honoured by his peers with the 1999 prestigious Ontario Confederation of University Faculty Associations Academic Librarianship Award.

On a personal level, Denis was always supportive and encouraging of new law librarians. He mentored many and showed a keen interest in their professional development. To his peers, he was a valued colleague who consistently displayed true leadership qualities through his innovative spirit, his strong service ethic and his tireless dedication to continuously improving and enhancing the profession of law librarianship in Canada.

Past Recipients:

- Daniel Boyer (2022)
- Teresa Gleave (2021)
- Louise Hamel (2019)
- Margo Jeske (2018)
- Shaunna Mireau (2017)
- Sandra Wilkins (2016)
- Rosalie Fox (2015)

- Nancy McCormack (2014)
- Barbara Campbell (2012)
- Ted Tjaden (2010)
- Peta Bates (2009)
- Mona Pearce (2007)
- John Eaton (2006)

- Judy Ginsberg (2006)
- Mary Mitchell (2004)
- Suzan Hebditch (2003)
- Denis LeMay (2003)
- Janine Miller (2001)

Purpose:

This award is an honour bestowed upon a current member of CALL/ACBD who has provided outstanding service to the Association AND/OR enhanced the profession of law librarianship in the recent past. The specific contributions must reflect the qualities embodied by Denis Marshall:

- a continued commitment to excellence in law librarianship;
- a strong service ethic;
- · a commitment to continuous learning;
- a significant contribution to the scholarship of the library profession;
- mentoring and encouraging those who seek a profession in law librarianship;
- the pursuit of innovation and/or innovative solutions;
- and/or a contribution to leadership in the law library profession.

Nomination Process:

CALL/ACBD members are encouraged to nominate fellow CALL/ACBD members whom they feel are deserving of this honour. A call for nominations will be published annually in Canadian Law Library Review/Revue canadienne des bibliothèques de droit, on the CALL/ACBD website and on the CALL-L Listserv.

Nominees' names must be submitted in writing to the Chair, Scholarships and Awards Committee. The name of the nominated person must be accompanied by two signed letters from colleagues in support of the nominee, with three additional names of CALL members supporting the nomination. Documentation supporting the accomplishment(s)/achievement(s) of the nominee along with the rationale or justification must be included in the submission.

In reviewing the nominations, the Scholarships and Awards Committee will take into consideration the above purposes of the award in relation to:

- the impact the nominee has had on the Association;
- the value of the nominee's contribution to the law library profession as a whole.

^{*} The recipient of the award is entitled to claim allowable approved expenses not normally to exceed \$2000.00. These allowable expenses are: full conference registration fees, accommodation at the conference hotel up to a maximum of five nights, and air/ground transportation from their place of residence to the conference venue. According to the normal practice of the Association, the recipient will submit receipts to the Association Treasurer or designate for reimbursement. Recipients should take note that the \$3,000 Award must be reported as income.



Application:

Applications are requested by April 1 of each calendar year. Nominations with supporting documentation should be sent to:

Julie Lavigne

Acting Chair, CALL/ACBD Scholarships and Awards

CommitteeEmail: julie.lavigne@carleton.ca

The candidate chosen by the Scholarships and Awards Committee will be presented for approval to the Executive Board of the Association. All deliberations of the Scholarships and Awards Committee shall be confidential.

Obligations of the Recipient:

The recipient of the Denis Marshall Award for Excellence in Law Librarianship, will be notified in advance of the annual meeting of the Canadian Association of Law Libraries/Association canadienne des bibliothèques de droit. The recipient is expected to appear in person to receive the award at the annual meeting of the Association.

Presentation of the Award:

The award will be presented annually where possible, when a qualified candidate has been chosen. The presentation ceremony will take place during the annual meeting of the Canadian Association of Law Libraries/Association canadienne des bibliothèques de droit. If in a given year, no award is presented, the Committee may exercise its discretion (with the concurrence of the donor) to recommend two awards in the following year.