

# James D. Lang Memorial Scholarship

### **About | Application**

#### About:

Members of the Canadian Association of Law Libraries/Association canadienne des bibliothèques de droit are invited to apply for funding through the James D. Lang Memorial Scholarship. The scholarship is designed to support attendance at a continuing education program, be it a workshop, certificate program or other similar activity deemed appropriate by the CALL/ACBD Scholarships and Awards Committee. Support for attendance at annual conferences normally does not fall within the terms of reference for this scholarship.

This scholarship fund was established in memory of James D. Lang, a long time employee of Carswell and member of CALL/ACBD. Carswell has donated the money for this scholarship fund, and the Scholarships and Awards Committee would like to honour Jim's memory by awarding this scholarship to a CALL/ACBD member. We encourage you to take advantage of this opportunity to further your professional education.

Members of CALL/ACBD who have been in good standing for a minimum of twelve months are invited to apply for funding through the James D. Lang Memorial Scholarship.

Applications will be considered twice a year; the deadlines are: February 1 and August 1.

# **Past Recipients:**

- Rebecca Tomlinson (2021)
- Carolyne Alsop (2019)
- Amy Kaufman (2019)
- Stef Alexandru (2018)
- Yemisi Dina (2018)
- Helen Mok (2018)
- Ilana Newman (2018)
- Leah Strudwick (2016)
- Natalie Wing (2015)
- Amy Kaufman (2015)
- lawrifer Aders (2014
- Jennifer Adams (2014)
- Mary-Jo Mustoe (2014)
- Bronwyn Guiton (2014)
- Katie Thomas (2014)
- Susannah Tredwell (2013)
- Jennifer Adams (2013)
- Catherine Cotter (2013)Liana Giovando (2012)
- Amy Kaufman (2012)
- Susannah Tredwell (2012)

- Shabira Tamachi (2011)
- Wendy Reynolds (2011)
- Tom French (2011)
- Allan Chan (2011)
- Tim Knight (2011)
- Jennifer Adams (2010)
- Ian McDonald (2010)
- Leslie Taylor (2010)
- Mary Mitchell (2010)
- Sandra Wilkins (2009)
- Tim Knight (2008)
- Sharon Wang (2008)
- Annette Demers (2007)
- Cecilia Tellis (2007)
- Louise Berman (2006/07)
- Martha Foote (2006/07)
- Mary Hemmings (2006/07)
- Beth Millard (2006/07)
- Sarah Leyenaar (2005/06)

- Brenda Carbone (2004/05)
- Michael Lines (2004/05)
- Beth Millard (2004/05)
- Lynda Roberts (2004/05)
- Phyllis Thornton (2004/05)
- Yoko Beriault (2003/04)
- Jane Parkinson (2003/04)
- Jennifer Bettger (2002/03)
- Mark Lewis (2002/03)
- Nancy McCormack (2002/03)
- Sonia Poulin (2002/03)
- Susan Crysler (2001/02)
- John Eaton (2001/02)
- Rick Leech (2001/02)
- Barbara Burrows (2000/01)
- Joan Rataic-Lang (1999/2000)
- Jane Taylor (1999/2000)
- Louise Tsang (1999/2000)
- Shawn Whatley (1999/2000)



1.

# APPLICATION FOR THE JAMES D. LANG MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

Name:			
Place of Employment/Business:			_
Phone:	E-Mail:		
Are You A CALL/ACBD Member?	□ No If so, w	hen did you become a Member?	
Muittan Ctatamant from Annliant	ATTACHMENTS		
Written Statement from Applicant			
outline the program, and its relevance to your	work and professional activities	you require support and when it will be held. Fes. Itemize the cost of this program, including to amounts of other funding received or applied to	uition,
Resumé Please send a current resumé that includes your professional memberships, activities, r		ployment record, any awards you have won, an	nd a record
Letter of Support Please include a letter of support from your en	nployer, or from a professional	colleague if you are self-employed.	
Total amount of Grant applied for:			
Signature		Date	
Please send completed form to:			

## Jennifer Walker

Chair, CALL/ACBD Scholarships and Awards Committee

Email: sac-cpb@callacbd.ca

Applications received to date will be reviewed on February 1 and August 1 of each year. The deliberations of the Scholarships and Awards Committee shall be confidential and not subject to appeal. Successful applicants are required to claim allowable approved expenses according to the normal practice of the Association which includes the submission of receipts.